History of World Cup Cricket

History of World Cup Cricket

History of World Cup Cricket

Cricket World Cup
has started since 1975. The first World Cup was played in England in 1975. This was the period when ODI cricket was not given much priority in front of Test cricket. The 60-over ODI match was called 'Pajama Cricket', but this small format of cricket also got popularity.

The 1975 World Cup was played from June 7 to 21, in which teams from eight countries took part. England, Australia, West Indies, India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Pakistan and East Africa were the first countries to participate in the World Cup.

The World Cup in 1975 made the first century in the match between India and England. This century was done by England batsman Dennis Amiss. This was the match in which Indian batsman Sunil Gavaskar batted for 60 overs and scored only 36 runs without being dismissed.

The West Indies won the first World Cup under Clive Lloyd. This is the only World Cup in the history of the World Cup, in which no team from the Asia subcontinent reached the semi-finals.

Cricket World
is organized every four years after 1975. Only once in 1996, it was held in 1999 at three years intervals. Before this, after the 1987 World Cup held in five years in 1992. Till now, ten world cups have been organized from 1975 to 2011. World Cup of 2015 will be the 11th World Cup.

Australia has won the world title for the most four times, three times out of which Australia has won the World Cup title. Australia first won the World Cup in 1987. Subsequently, after winning this title in 1999, 2003 and 2007, they made hat-tricks. India (1983, 2011) and West Indies (1975, 1979) won this title twice. In addition, Sri Lanka (1996) and Pakistan (1992) won the title once.